A Poor Little Bird…

…flew into our large front window while being chased by a hawk. Sadly it broke it’s neck and died and the hawk didn’t come back for it. So, I got to take pictures of it!

Can you guess what kind of bird it is?

Feathered Beauty

Although we were sad it died, I was glad to get a chance to take close-up pictures of it since they’re fast and skittish birds and I’ve never gotten to handle one.

Simple beauty

Any guesses yet?

Claws Head

I’m hoping you’ve figured it out by now 😉Macro Feather Quail Head

They have such beautifully designed feathers!

Feather detail Body

Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? And not one of them will fall to the ground apart from your Father. But even the hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not, therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.  {Matthew 10:29-31}

Quail

Gambel’s quail {Callipepla gambelii} have a chunky round body with a feather plume on their head. Males have a dark and thick plume, a black face, neck and also a black patch on the breast. Females have more dull and thin feather plumes and lack the black markings. Mature males have much more striking plumage than females. 

 

4 thoughts on “A Poor Little Bird…

  1. I really like this post. I had already seen your mom’s FB post, so I didn’t have to guess. I love your creative photos…I saw things I had never noticed before…quite beautiful.

    I love you,

    Gramma

Leave a Reply

